For the fifth year in a row, the Anacortes School District Board of Directors received a Board of Distinction title from the Washington State School Directors’ Association.

The district applies for the honor, which honors groups around the state who are doing good work in their area.

Thirty-four school boards statewide were named out of 295 districts. Anacortes and Mount Vernon were both recognized from Skagit County.

“Research shows that effective school boards have a significant impact on student learning,” Superintendent Mark Wenzel said in a press release.

In their application, the board highlighted recent success in closing the achievement gap, such as the district’s summer kindergarten readiness program and elimination of certain school fees that can be a barrier to participation.

The board is now up for a Board of the Year award to be announced this month.

The Anacortes School District Board directors are Bobbilyn Hogge, Erin Rieger, Karl Yost, Marilyn Hanesworth and Bill Shaw.

Load comments