2021 General Election

Matt Miller is the next mayor of Anacortes.

The Anacortes City Council member finished 199 votes ahead of Ryan Walters on Tuesday afternoon when the Nov. 2 general election was certified.

Miller led Walters throughout the three weeks from election night through certification, though on election night his lead was eight votes.

He will replace Laurie Gere, who did not run for reelection.

The Skagit County Elections Department counted 35,493 ballots in the election. There was a 42% turnout rate.

While Miller will be a first-time mayor, Jason Miller won a third term as Concrete mayor. He beat challenger Lorin Massingale by 75 votes.

One race was close enough to trigger a machine recount by the county Elections Department.

A recount will be done Tuesday in the United General Hospital District 304 Board of Commissioners race between Greg Thramer and Debra Lancaster.

Thramer leads Lancaster by 32 votes (5,621 to 5,589).

Incumbents voted out of office were Hamilton Town Council member Dean Vandiver; Concrete Town Council member Michael Bartel; La Conner Town Council members John Leaver and Bill Stokes; Sedro-Woolley City Council member Karl de Jong; and Sedro-Woolley School Board member Enrique Lopez-Cisneros.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.