Independence Day has arrived.

Whether you’re planning to spend the federal holiday under the stars or indoors covering your pooch’s ears, here is a guide to local firework regulations:

When and where can I discharge fireworks?

All fireworks are banned in Anacortes, Burlington, La Conner and Concrete. This includes restrictions on sparklers and sky lanterns. As such, fireworks can not be bought or discharged within city limits.

Fireworks can be discharged July 4 from noon to midnight in Mount Vernon and 9 a.m. to 11 p.m. in Sedro-Woolley. The sale of fireworks is limited under these jurisdictions.

State law applies to unincorporated Skagit County. In these areas, it is legal to sell and discharge fireworks from June 29 to July 5 from 9 a.m. to 11 p.m., and July 4 from 9 a.m. to midnight. On these dates, the type of fireworks discharged must be legal by state law and must not be used in parks or on state forest land.

Fireworks may be purchased and discharged legally on the Swinomish Indian Tribal Community with conditions. Be wary, because some fireworks purchased on the reservation, including firecrackers, bottle rockets, missiles and rockets, are prohibited off the reservation by state law.

What fireworks are permitted?

With the exception of the Swinomish reservation, Skagit County jurisdictions only allow the discharge of legal consumer fireworks purchased at a licensed and permitted stands.

Permitted fireworks include roman candles, fountains, smoke devices and more.

A chart with images of legal and illegal fireworks in Washington is available through the State Patrol at

Safety Tips:

n Read instructions and warnings.

n Keep a bucket of water nearby.

n Children should never ignite fireworks.

n Avoid lighting fireworks near a house or any flammable and dry materials.

n Make sure friends and family are out of range.

n Do not try to relight fireworks.

n Use extreme caution when dealing with any fireworks.

— Reporter Zoe Deal: 360-416-2139,, Twitter: @Zoe_SVH

Load comments