The experience of Diane Warsinske White won out over the political activism of Steve Shepro in the Position 2 race for Stanwood City Council, with 53 percent of votes, or 476 for the former mayor, compared to 424 for Shepro.

In the contest for Position 7, where two new candidates faced off, Judy Williams won 53 percent against Mike Braley’s 47 percent.

Running unopposed, Stanwood Mayor Leonard Kelley won 95 percent, or 767 votes, with 40 write-in candidates. Also unopposed, Councilman Rob Johnson won 97 percent, or 767 with 22 write-in candidates.

Stanwood resident Nate Nehring will keep his seat representing north Snohomish County on Snohomish County Council, garnering 59 percent of the 21,664 votes, compared to Ray Miller’s 40 percent.

Incumbents in the other county council positions on the ballot will all retain their seats: Terry Ryan, D, who represents the Mill Creek area, won 64 percent against Republican Marcus Barton, and Sam Low, R, won 57 percent against Democrat Kristin Kelly’s 42 percent, for the east county seat.

Three commissioners for North County Regional Fire Authority, Larry Longley, Jan Iverson and Ric Cade all ran unopposed and they all won over 98 percent, with 25, 32 and 30 write-ins, respectively.

For the Stanwood Camano School District Board of Directors, Al Schreiber and Roger Myers both ran unopposed and faced 53 and 50 write-ins, respectively.

For Island County Hospital District I, commissioners Margarethe Cammermeyer, Kurt Blankenship and Eric E. Anderson all ran unopposed and were reelected.

For Hospital District 3, or Cascade Valley Hospital in Arlington, Tim Cavanaugh won 70.68 percent more votes over Randy Tendering and Tina Davis ran unopposed with 52 write-ins.

For Camano Vista Water, Shirley C. Morgan won 56.2 percent of the votes, compared to 43.8 percent for Deana Sweet, or 68 to 53 votes, respectively.

Lincoln Libby ran unopposed for the Port of Mabana and won.

Greg Hood won with 35 of 35 votes for position 2 on the Juniper Beach Water commission and Joanne B Wilson won 36 votes for position 5.

Keith Sorensen was reelected to position 1, on the Saratoga Water Commission with 64 votes and Alan S. Cohen, won 68 votes for position 3.

Camano residents approve lift of lid on fire levy rate

Voters agreed to lift the lid on the levy for Camano Island Fire and Rescue (CIFR) with 58.71 percent in favor, or 3,396 votes over 2,388 who were against the proposition that would raise money for improved services and facility maintenance.

Fire Chief Michael Schick said he was relieved that they managed to get the message across on how much the levy lid lift was needed.

“I am very thankful that we have such supportive citizens,” Schick said.

While Fire District 1 (CIFR) will not see any additional income until mid 2018, Schick will be able to add two firefighter positions in January thanks to a federal grant.

“Although this is only a temporary grant, it will allow us to stretch our levy dollars even further,” Schick said.

With the additional firefighters, Schick plans to staff the Terry’s Corner fire station on the north end full time.

“We also hope to implement day time staffing at the Mabana fire station about a third of the time to supplement our volunteer responders,” he said.

Next on his list is the replacement of a 35-year-old water tender, which will take a year to have built.

“The earliest we can expect to see it would probably be the first part of 2019,” said Schick, who encourages island residents to have a look at the strategic plan adopted by the commissioners in 2016. It is posted at the

Staff Reporter Sarah Arney: 360-416-2184 or

Load comments