ALGER — Roger Crockett saw a chance and took it. 

The American Sprint Car Series driver spied the chance to get to the front of the pack in Friday night's A Main at the Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cup, and that's what exactly what he did.

After a crash took out the two leading drivers in the 25-lap event, Crockett got past another and stayed in front for the feature win.

Colton Heath and Robbie Price finished second and third, John Carney and Jason Solwold were fourth and fifth, and two-time Dirt Cup winner Sam Hafertepe, Jr. finished sixth.

Crockett's opportunity came when a crash 12 laps in took out race leader Scott Bogucki, as well as Tanner Holmes.

Crockett soon made his way to the front for the win on the second night of the three-day event.

In the American Sprint Car Series qualifiers, wins were nabbed by Heath, Matt Covington, Garen Linder and Holmes.

The circuit also held six heat races. Winners there were Solwold, Crockett, Bogucki, Brock Lemley, Harli White and Justin Youngquist.

Drivers tried to nab top finishes and plenty of passing points to give themselves momentum into Saturday's action.

The top prize on the line Saturday is the $15,000 for the A Main winner.

The Northwest Focus Midgets also raced Friday, with more than 40 cars available for the evening's races.

Nick Evans cruised to victory for the second night in the row in that class, with Evan Margeson and Ross Rankine rounding out the top three. 

A.J. Fugitt won one of the B Mains there; Guy Tow, Sr. won the other.

Michael Hodel, Jared Peterson, Margeson, Garrett Thomas and Mike Stryker won heat races.

Both classes are slated to finish up action Saturday at the 48th annual event.

Reporter Trevor Pyle: 360-416-2156,, Twitter: @Sports_SVH,

Load comments